Primary Levels

Primary Levels include Levels 3 through 7, or grades 1 through 5. When the children move into the Primary Levels, they are prepared for the new challenges they will experience.  Students are introduced to new concepts, new responsibilities, and new expectations.  Children are asked to accept responsibility for a task, working from beginning through completion.  They will begin to understand the importance of independent work as they undertake activities at stations in the classroom and as they work collaboratively in group situations.  However, and most importantly, students begin to be more active, self-motivated learners. Students use planners to learn the value of time management, becoming increasingly more responsible and independent.

As part of the process, students are required to make choices, developing thinking skills in both academic and social situations. Mistakes are valued as an important part of the learning process. For these reasons, St. Nicholas graduates enjoy great success when transitioning to their middle schools, not just academically but socially and organizationally. They are motivated, inquisitive learners who work well with others.

Lower Primary, click here.
Middle Primary, click here.
Upper Primary, click here.

To read Lower Primary’s Cottage Newsletter, click here.
To read Middle Primary’s Cottage Newsletter, click here.
To read Upper Primary’s Cottage Newsletter, click here.


St Nicholas School 7525 Min Tom Drive - Chattanooga, Tennessee 37421
ph: (423).899.1999 - fax: (423).899.0109 -
Board of Trustees Login